Vultr High Frequency 1 GB: Hourly Billing, 32 GB NVMe SSD
We earn commissions when you shop through the links below.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links. If you buy or sign up through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Vultr High Frequency 1 GB is a self-managed Cloud VPS from Vultr with 1 vCPU, 1 GB of memory, 32 GB NVMe SSD storage and 1 TB of bandwidth. The official pricing page lists it as billed hourly up to the monthly price, with a 1 month billing cycle and a price at renewal that is the same as the starting price. This page is written for a developer sizing a server for a web app: it walks through how each listed resource maps to an application workload, how the hourly billing works, what the official data says about resizing, and how the plan lines up against other small Cloud VPS options from Vultr and DigitalOcean. Prices appear in the verified table on this page rather than in the text.
Plan details (official data)
| Plan | Vultr High Frequency 1 GB |
|---|---|
| Host | Vultr |
| Category | Cloud VPS |
| Price (monthly) | $6.00 |
| Billing cycle | 1 month |
| Billing | USD per month; billed hourly up to the monthly price |
| CPU | 1 vCPU |
| RAM | 1 GB |
| Storage | 32 GB NVMe SSD |
| Bandwidth | 1 TB |
Inclusions and features (official data)
- High Frequency (3GHz+ Intel Xeon, NVMe SSD)
- flat monthly price (no intro discount)
Prices were checked on Vultr's official pricing page on Oct 11, 2026. The renewal price listed there is the same as the sign-up price (no intro discount). Prices change, so confirm on the official site before you buy.
Compare plans in this category (official data)
| Plan | Host | Price (monthly) | Term or billing cycle | Billing | CPU | RAM | Storage | Bandwidth |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vultr High Frequency 1 GB (this plan) | Vultr | $6.00 | 1 month | USD per month; billed hourly up to the monthly price | 1 vCPU | 1 GB | 32 GB NVMe SSD | 1 TB |
| DigitalOcean Basic 512 MiB | DigitalOcean | $4.00 | 1 month | USD per month equivalent; billing term and prepayment depend on plan | Not listed | 512 MiB | 10 GiB SSD | Not listed |
| Vultr Cloud Compute 1 GB | Vultr | $5.00 | 1 month | USD per month; billed hourly up to the monthly price | 1 vCPU | 1 GB | 25 GB SSD | 1 TB |
| DigitalOcean Basic 1 GiB | DigitalOcean | $6.00 | 1 month | USD per month equivalent; billing term and prepayment depend on plan | Not listed | 1 GiB | 25 GiB SSD | Not listed |
| Vultr High Performance AMD 1 GB | Vultr | $6.00 | 1 month | USD per month; billed hourly up to the monthly price | 1 vCPU | 1 GB | 25 GB NVMe SSD | 2 TB |
All values in this table come from each host's official pricing page. This plan was checked on Oct 11, 2026; every compared plan was checked within the last 60 days.
What the official data lists for this plan
The plan is listed with 1 vCPU, 1 GB of RAM, 32 GB NVMe SSD storage and 1 TB of bandwidth. The feature list describes the hardware tier as High Frequency (3GHz+ Intel Xeon, NVMe SSD), which is the main thing separating it from the other Vultr 1 GB plans in the same category.
The second listed feature is a flat monthly price (no intro discount). Read that together with the billing field: the plan is charged in USD per month and billed hourly up to the monthly price. In practice the monthly figure in the price table is the cap for a 1 month billing cycle, and charges accumulate by the hour toward that cap rather than being taken as a single fixed charge at the start of each cycle.
Because this is a self-managed Cloud VPS, you are responsible for the operating system, the web server, the application runtime, security updates, the firewall and backups. The official data does not list available operating system images, data center locations, snapshot or backup tooling, or support options, so confirm those on the provider's site before signing up if any of them matters to your deployment.
How the hourly billing works
The billing field reads USD per month; billed hourly up to the monthly price. That means the hourly charges for a running server add up over the 1 month cycle until they reach the monthly price listed in the table, and they do not exceed it within that cycle. The term listed as 1 month is the length of that billing cycle for the monthly cap.
The renewal comparison in the data is the same, and the feature list repeats this as no intro discount. In words: the price that applies after the first cycle is the same as the price that applies during it, so there is no promotional rate to watch for.
The official data does not say what happens to charges when a server is powered off, suspended or deleted, so do not assume that stopping the instance lowers or ends billing. If you plan to spin servers up and down while testing app sizing, confirm the provider's exact rules on when hourly charges accrue before relying on that workflow.
Matching vCPU, memory, storage and transfer to a web app
With 1 vCPU, all of the work on the server shares a single virtual processor: the web server, the application process, any background workers and any database running on the same box. The feature list places this plan on the High Frequency (3GHz+ Intel Xeon, NVMe SSD) tier, but the official data does not include benchmarks or throughput figures, so any estimate of how many requests per second a given app can handle should come from your own load testing on the instance rather than from this page.
The 1 GB of memory is shared between the operating system, the web server, the application runtime and anything else you run locally, such as a database or a cache. Memory-heavy runtimes, large connection pools or a database with generous buffer settings can consume that quickly, so check what your stack idles at and what it uses under load. Keeping the database on a separate service is one way to leave more of the 1 GB for the app itself.
Storage is listed as 32 GB NVMe SSD. That has to hold the operating system, logs, the application and its dependencies, user uploads and any local database files. Log rotation and offloading uploads to object storage are typical ways to keep a small disk from filling up over time.
Bandwidth is listed as 1 TB. The official data does not state the period this applies to or what happens if traffic exceeds it, so confirm both with Vultr before signing up. For planning, estimate your average response size multiplied by expected requests, plus any asset or download traffic that is not served from a CDN.
Resizing later
Starting on a 1 GB plan and moving up once real traffic arrives is a common pattern for a new web app, but the official data for this plan does not confirm whether an instance can be resized in place, whether storage can be grown separately, or whether a move to another plan tier is possible without rebuilding. Check this on the provider's site before signing up if you expect to scale.
Whatever the resize options turn out to be, keeping the server reproducible makes growth easier: configuration in version control, a scripted provisioning step and regular backups of application data mean you can recreate the app on a larger instance if an in-place change is not available.
How it compares with other small Cloud VPS plans
Vultr Cloud Compute 1 GB lists the same 1 vCPU, 1 GB of RAM and 1 TB of bandwidth, with 25 GB SSD storage and a hardware tier described as Regular Performance (previous-gen Intel, regular SSD). Its billing is also USD per month; billed hourly up to the monthly price, with a 1 month cycle and the same price at renewal. It fits an app where disk and CPU generation matter less than keeping the monthly cap low; the High Frequency plan fits an app that benefits from the newer tier and the larger 32 GB NVMe SSD disk.
Vultr High Performance AMD 1 GB lists 1 vCPU, 1 GB of RAM, 25 GB NVMe SSD storage and 2 TB of bandwidth, on a tier described as High Performance (AMD EPYC, NVMe SSD), with the same hourly billing model and 1 month cycle. Compared with the High Frequency plan it lists more bandwidth and less storage, so it suits an app that serves a lot of traffic but stores little locally, while the High Frequency plan suits an app that needs more local disk and stays within 1 TB of transfer.
DigitalOcean Basic 1 GiB lists 1 GiB of RAM and 25 GiB SSD storage, and DigitalOcean Basic 512 MiB lists 512 MiB of RAM and 10 GiB SSD storage. The official data for both does not list a vCPU count or bandwidth, and because their units are GiB and MiB rather than GB, this page does not rank their sizes against the Vultr plans. DigitalOcean lists its billing as USD per month equivalent; billing term and prepayment depend on plan, with a 1 month cycle and the same price at renewal for each. These suit a developer who already works in DigitalOcean's ecosystem or wants the smaller 512 MiB option for a very light service; the Vultr High Frequency plan suits a developer who wants the listed vCPU, bandwidth and NVMe storage figures stated up front.
None of these is declared a winner here. Choose by matching the listed memory, storage and bandwidth figures to what your app measurably uses, and confirm any missing fields with the respective provider.
Who this plan suits and what to check before signing up
This plan suits a developer running a single small web app, an API, a staging environment or a side project that fits within 1 vCPU and 1 GB of memory, needs more local storage than the other Vultr 1 GB tiers list, and values billing that accrues hourly up to a monthly cap rather than a fixed charge taken in advance.
It is a weaker fit for memory-hungry stacks, for apps that run a database and the application on the same box under real load, or for anyone who wants a managed control panel, since this is a self-managed server and the official data does not mention a panel.
Before signing up, read the price table on this page for the monthly cap, confirm with Vultr how hourly charges are counted when an instance is stopped, check which operating system images and locations are offered, confirm the bandwidth period and overage handling, and find out whether the plan can be resized in place.
Practical setup guide
STEP 1Create the server and record its IP address
After signing up, create a Vultr High Frequency 1 GB instance and choose an operating system image and location from whatever the provider offers, since the official data does not list these. Note the public IP address assigned to the instance and sign in over SSH as soon as it boots. Before going further, apply the latest security updates and create a non-root user for day-to-day work.
STEP 2Point the domain's A and AAAA records at the server
In your DNS provider, create or update the A record (and the AAAA record if the instance has an IPv6 address) for the domain and any subdomains so they point at the IP you noted. Do this only once the application is installed and answering on plain HTTP, so visitors are not sent to an empty server. You can confirm what the domain currently resolves to by running the following on your own machine, replacing the placeholder with your domain: dig +short A example.com
STEP 3Issue a TLS certificate once DNS resolves to the server
When the domain resolves to the new IP and Nginx is serving the site over HTTP, request a Let's Encrypt certificate. With Certbot installed, run the following on the server, replacing the placeholders with your own hostnames: sudo certbot --nginx -d example.com -d www.example.com. Load the site over HTTPS afterward to confirm the certificate and the redirect from HTTP behave as expected.
STEP 4Lock down the server and set up backups
Enable automatic security updates and configure a firewall that allows only SSH, HTTP and HTTPS inbound. The official data does not mention snapshot or backup tooling for this plan, so plan your own backups of the application files and database to storage outside the server and test a restore before you depend on it. Finally, keep in mind that charges accrue hourly up to the monthly price in the table, and confirm with Vultr how charges are handled for stopped or deleted instances.
Frequently asked questions
Is the monthly price a fixed charge every month?
No. The feature list calls it a flat monthly price (no intro discount), but the billing field says the plan is billed hourly up to the monthly price. Charges build by the hour during the 1 month cycle and stop rising once they reach the monthly figure shown in the price table.
Does the price go up after the first month?
The official data lists the renewal price as the same as the starting price and the features say there is no intro discount, so the monthly cap after the first cycle is the same as during it.
Can I resize this server to a bigger plan later?
The official data does not confirm in-place resizing, separate storage growth or moving between Vultr tiers. Confirm this with the provider before signing up if you expect to scale, and keep your deployment scripted so you can rebuild on a larger instance if needed.
Do stopped servers still accrue charges?
The official data does not say what stops, pauses or lowers charges. Do not assume that powering off an instance ends billing; confirm the provider's rules first.
Is 1 GB of memory enough for a web app with a database?
It depends on the stack. The 1 GB is shared by the operating system, the web server, the app runtime and any local database or cache. Measure your app's idle and peak memory use locally before choosing, and consider hosting the database separately to leave more memory for the application.
Does the 1 TB bandwidth reset each month?
The official data lists bandwidth as 1 TB but does not state the period or what happens above that figure. Check both with Vultr before signing up.
โ Back to the price table and plan link
Found this helpful? Share this article.